selectiveparticipation

Lent started today.

Posted on: February 23, 2012

For those of you that are unfamiliar with what that is, let me give a quick summary, have in mind that I’m not a religious person. Lent is something that Catholics do, We give up something such as a habit or an addiction we have (facebook, twitter etc.) for 40 day’s. Oh, you also don’t eat meat on friday’s. Were on the same page now? Yes? Okay. As I’ve said, I’m not a religious person and have not participated in Lent for years. Besides the not eating meat on friday’s part. This year I decided to actually participate and give something up, time passed by and I realized that it was the day before it started and I still didn’t know what that thing was. Therefore, I had successfully procrastinated on a religious matter. Oh the levels I can procrastinate amazes me.

I spoke briefly with my parents about it, and by briefly, I mean briefly, we don’t see eye to eye on religion so I always try to dodge them before they start telling me I’m going to hell for not being a religious person. I decided I was either going to give up Milk or hot sauce, seeing as I’m addicted to both. You could say I’m a milkaholic. But after thinking about it, I decided that instead of giving up something, I would do something. I’m going to spend more time with my family. Yes I know something that isn’t common, but I always distant myself from all of them and do the teenager thing and lock myself in my room. So, here I am, one day in and I’m already dying. Oh how the generations have changed.

I think I’m going to start a series if you will, “Lent Challenge.” to hell I go.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

