selectiveparticipation

Being single isn’t the end of the world

Posted on: April 18, 2012

Being young in our generation, it’s expected for us to get married and have children by the age of 18. If not younger. And I will be the first to admit that I was diffidently one of those, “I want to be married and raise a family.” Type of girls. Or should I say, boy crazy. Yup, that’s the phrase that could best describe how I used to be.

When I was young that’s all I could think about. Boys, boys, boys. Although, I didn’t have my first real boyfriend until I was 14, about to be 15. I made that boy my entire world for two years. Not something I pride myself in. Because after we broke up, I wasn’t devastated or anything for that matter, I kept my mind occupied with other boys. Not that I would anything with those boys but they were just merely, space in my brain. This went on all thru high school. I didn’t have many boyfriends, you’d think otherwise from being so boy crazy. But in all actuality, I don’t think I was stuck on boys, I was stuck on the idea of the perfect boyfriend. After high school, I had a lot of time to think and look back on everything. I don’t remember exactly what it was that made me change my perspective, maybe it was my last relationship that I got out of. He was everything I had ever wanted. But that happiness was short-lived, we broke up almost four months after getting together. It was a wonder why I wasn’t completely devastated, the thing he did was the number one thing NOT to do in a relationship and the leading cause of break up’s. So I sat there thinking, why wasn’t I sad? why wasn’t I crying and eating tons of chocolate? I believe that was the moment when I realized that I had a problem, because it wasn’t the boy I had been so caught up in, it was the idea of him. I was so caught up with my “perfect boyfriend” that I was too clueless to see what was going on in front of me.

I also realized that I had to take time for myself, to get to know myself without the image of a boy next to me. And that’s what I’ve been doing. It’s the best thing there is. Being single, I have dear friends that I love, My family and I are getting on better terms and I’m working out the details so I can actually begin my life correct.

So get out there and start living your life instead of waiting around for someone to live your life for you. Everybody dies but not everybody lives.

Leave a Reply

