selectiveparticipation

Being compared

Posted on: December 9, 2012

I was compared recently, by my mother to a cousin of mine, a not very nice cousin I should add.

Thinking about it more just gets to me, why do people think it’s okay to compare people. As if you need that in the back of your mind.

“Oh maybe if I was more like them, things would be better.” Like, NO. Be yourself, that’s what you have to do. Now I know when people are growing up, you don’t always know who you really are. But once you know, don’t ever let that go. Don’t let anyone tell you how to act, how to dress, what to say and don’t you dare let anyone tell you what to do with your life. Because it’s not theirs, even if those people are your own parents. Most of the time they may have the best interest for you. But they still don’t own you. That’s something I always struggled with growing up, I wasn’t what my parents wanted. My views on things and in life in general were very different to theirs. Every time I would try to please them, I wasn’t happy at all. I learned from a young age that I couldn’t be doing things that other people wanted me to do. Because that wasn’t me, that wasn’t who I was and wasn’t who I wanted to be. I’m still trying to figure out what I want for myself in the future but at least I know who I am. I know the things I like and don’t like, my past, my hopes and dreams. So being compared to someone else that is completely different than I am, irks me. What makes you think that I would ever want do anything that they have done? What makes you think that I even want to be like them?

You don’t. So don’t compare me.

Leave a Reply

