selectiveparticipation

Missing “home”?

Posted on: January 24, 2013

It’s been rough around maybe, five or six months now that I moved out on my own with my best friend, about 3 hours away from my old town. And I barely started to miss “home.” I guess I’m a bit conflicted cause what do I call that? When I moved out I didn’t have intentions of going back to live there. This city is my new home.

But I miss my family, my friends, my chihuahua. It’s so weird for me to say that, that I miss my family. My parents and I never met eye to eye, but I even miss them. I guess what gets to me the most is that my little brother’s birthday is in two weeks and this might be the first time that I miss his birthday in his whole life if I can’t get off work that day. I missed Thanksgiving and Christmas already cause of the snow. And now his birthday? I don’t want him or my little sister to think that I just left them. I know how hard it is to grow up like that. I just wish I could do something about it.

I also miss my friends, I talk to them all the time but I just…miss them. But distance isn’t going to break us apart, I know that. It does suck that I don’t get to see them as often but it hasn’t stopped us from being in constant contact even to this day. There’s very few people from that town that I consider a good friend, and the ones that I’ve kept in contact with, I know are not just good friends, but good people that I want to stay in my life.

When I first moved out, I wanted so desperately to have a new life, new surroundings, new experiences and new people. Now it finally hit me, wow, this is real. I did it, I moved to the other side of the mountains from my parents. Everything is different now. But I now realize that I have to mix in my old life to my new one. There’s really good people that came into my life and belong in it.

I also really miss my dog okay.

Leave a Reply

