selectiveparticipation

Skinny doesn’t mean healthy.

Posted on: January 30, 2013

I can’t count the amount of times that I’ve gotten dirty looks whenever I say that I’m on a diet. Yes I am aware that I’am skinny, No i’m not starving myself. And NO, skinny does NOT mean healthy.

When I say that I’m dieting, I don’t mean that I’m starving myself or not eating pure non-fat foods. What I mean is, eating healthy. Being smart about what I eat so my body won’t hate me in the future. As well as exercising cause I’m sick of going up the stairs and needing life alert when I reach the top.

Finally, I’ve said this all of my life, but skinny does not mean you’re healthy. My body type has always been petite but I am in no way shape or form, “fit”. I can’t do a push up to save my life, I huff and puff after a minute of running and I feel like my lungs are on fire half the time. So whenever someone gives me dirty looks and says, “OMG you’re a twig why would you even go on a diet. ugh.” have in mind that i’m trying to be in shape for my body type. Not society’s.

I’m doing this for myself. For my body to feel good and be healthy. Not for you.

Leave a Reply

