selectiveparticipation

Can I go to Canada?

Posted on: August 19, 2013

I recently had to go to the ER because I was having abdominal pain, not that I was too thrilled with that. I had called a nurse hotline to get a second opinion, after answering her questions, she then advised me to get to the ER within the next hour, at first I still did not want to, but my friend who was visiting me insisted we should go if the nurse said so. 4 hours in the waiting room and over 4 hours for my test results to get back, later, they informed me the same exact thing I had told them I had, but with a fancy name.

Now I’m usually not upset about wasting time that much, because I do waste time a lot. What got to me was the fact that I don’t have health insurance, so I knew this was going to cost an arm and a leg; soon enough I got a medecial bill for over 3,000 dollars….for just the room, I then got two other bills for the doctor fee and the test fee’s, not to mention the $968 that I already paid the day I went to the ER. I was able to get a 40% discount for the 3,000 dolllars since I paid upfront the day at the ER so Now I have to pay around $1,750 in payments for the next nine months. Still a lot of money but not as bad as 3,000. Plus the rest of the bills that I still have to pay.

So here I am at age 20 and in medical debt. And there wasn’t even anything bad wrong with me. It got me to think:What if it was something life threatening or if one day I need medical help? what if god forbid I have a terminal illness, what would I possibly do then. Gotta hope for the best till then and pay off these bills first. i guess.

Canada looks pretty good right now

Leave a Reply

