selectiveparticipation

psych ward

Posted on: September 3, 2013

I recently went to visit my old town for a weekend and got some quality time with my family, among other people. Right as my roommate and I were packing, she received a call from her mother with some news. A boy that we use to know had a mental breakdown of the sorts. I can’t go into detail because the details would be in question to what you believe. But a breakdown none the less. We decided we would pay him a visit before we left, so that’s exactly what we did.

We were greeted by his family that we haven’t seen in ages. It was nice to see their faces again, even under those circumstances. Then it was time; I walked in to see him on the couch, on some sort of drug, just passed out. We woke him up and his face did light up when he saw, we went to sit down and chatted.

At first I didn’t even recognize him, he had changed so much, not just from his appearance but his personality, I then realized that it was just the drugs and after they wore off he was still the same. Towards the end of our visit, it was like I had never left and no time had passed at all. I really do hope that he gets better and I want to visit and keep in contact, not because I feel sorry for him, but because I know he can get better.

But it’s odd, how much life changes when you grow up and what we go through. As kids fighting about who’s turn it is and picking which crayon to color with were most of our challenges. And now it’s medical debt, seeing your friends go through mental break downs, go to jail, people dying, being aware of the seriousness and evil in this world. And all you can do is try to be a good person and hope for the best.

So never forget to try to better yourself, that’s all we have left.

Leave a Reply

