selectiveparticipation

College, yes or pass?

Posted on: November 21, 2013

I’ve gone back and forth between the idea of going to college or not, mostly because I’m not sure if it’s worth it. I’ve been told since I was little that I have to do good in school in order to go to college, that seems to be the ultimate goal in life. We’re taught that we won’t get anywhere in life unless we follow this plan that was designed since before our birth. But I don’t believe that plan is all correct. I’m a big believer in working your way to the top.

Now that I’ve been in the real world, I see that all employer’s want is  experience, which discourages me about college. I don’t want to be in debt for the rest of my life with a degree that didn’t get me anywhere. Further more, I’m not so sure if I want to even try. I didn’t do very good in High School so my options may be limited. Not to mention the fact that I don’t learn like the rest, I have my own way of doing things and my brain has its own process. Having to go go go, might set me up for failure.

lastly, I really have no idea what  degree to go for. I know that we can change the major but I really just want to make those changes as little as possible, because time is money. All of this just stresses me out. I have a good friend who’s going to help me study for the SAT’s and I for one, am terrified.

 In a distant dream, I would study abroad. But I don’t think I would be able to do that. It’s a sad, sad day in Cynthia town.

I’ve pretty much just went on and on about how bad of an idea this is, maybe I just want to go to college for the experience? I’m not sure that’s a good thing. But I’d love to have that in my life and be able to meet various new people and get a taste of the school life. Not to party or for frat boys, but just to network and learn about different things. I do like learning, I have a lot of random interest and I would love to take classes on them but, will that get me anywhere?

Or is it too late now that I’ve pretty much taken a two, almost three year, gap year.

3 Responses to "College, yes or pass?"

It’s never too late to go to school! I know how you feel though, I’m here now and I don’t know if it’s the place for me. I’ve only been at college for three months and I’ve considered dropping out, transferring, and staying.

That’s a wave of emotions. Kudos to you for sticking by! I’d hope I wouldn’t quit lol. If I start

Don’t force yourself! College will really take you to places but maybe you’re that one in a million guy who can be successful without going to college like Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg. Who knows!

Casual Attitude

Leave a Reply

