selectiveparticipation

Flying across the country for Ed Sheeran

Posted on: December 3, 2013

I recently went to New York for the first time to see Ed Sheeran live at Madison Square Garden.

Why yes, I did fly across the country for a concert. This is the third time I’ve seen him live, the same set and I am still in awe of this man. If you’ve never heard his music, I highly recommend it, if you ever get the chance to see him live, take it. I have never admired an artist as much as I admire him. When I heard that he was going to play MSG, I was ready to go through the hunger games to get tickets to that show. Thankfully; I didn’t have to kill anyone and was able to get floor seats for his show! I then procrastinated and booked my flight, where we were staying as well as asked time off from work, last-minute (but what else is new.)

The day finally rolled around and I was off to the airport with a copy of Enders game for company. I landed in New Jersey and started my journey to Brooklyn where we were staying and of course, being me, I got lost for about 5-6 hours. I eventually did get to the destination. As I collapsed on the floor all I could think about was:

A. I really need to work on reading subway maps

B. The air isn’t as polluted as I thought and

C. I’m in New York, I actually did it.

Since I was a little girl, I’ve always loved New York and everything about it. I even wanted to live there most of my life (I had a poster that I made myself, it said “NEW YORK” in glitter that I hung in my room.) It wasn’t until I truly fell in love with Seattle and Washington state that I decided that maybe New York wasn’t for me, for now. But the fact that I was actually there and able to walk the streets that I’ve seen in pictures and movies, was beyond surreal for me.

I stayed there from the 31st of October-3rd of November. Too short of a trip for my taste but I’ll be visiting again soon, I hope!

In my time there, I went sight-seeing, ate at delicious food places, got to see friends that I haven’t seen in a long time and of course, got to see Ed live. (best show of my life tbh)

My only regret was not being able to see Dylan Sprouse when I was visiting the NYU campus. Maybe next time, Dylan. (Not creepy way wink)

Here are some pictures of my trip!

Leave a Reply

